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Currently, possession of even a single joint is punishable 
by: 

 Up to 30 days in jail 

 And a $500 fine 

Virginia’s Medical Marijuana Law 



However, since 1979, VA law has allowed 
“[p]ossession or distribution of marijuana for 
medical purposes.” 

 

 

 

Virginia’s Medical Marijuana Law 



Code of Virginia § 18.2-251.1. A. 

 

No person shall be prosecuted […] for the possession 
of marijuana or tetrahydrocannabinol when that 
possession occurs pursuant to a valid prescription 
issued by a medical doctor in the course of his 
professional practice for treatment of cancer or 
glaucoma. 
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Virginia’s Medical Marijuana Law 



 

Prescription vs. 
Recommendation 

 

 

Virginia’s Medical Marijuana Law 



States’ Rights 

 

 Federal law does not prevent states from removing 
state criminal penalties for the medical use of 
marijuana.  

 

 Nothing in the U.S. Constitution or federal law 
prohibits states from enacting penalties that differ 
from federal law. 

Federal Law 



Conant v. Walters 

 

 In 2002, a federal circuit court found that the First 
Amendment right to free speech protects a 
physician’s ability to recommend medical marijuana. 

Federal Law 



Cole Memo, Aug. 2013 

 

 Eight enforcement priorities (including distribution to 
minor, diversion to other states, gang activity, etc.) 

 

 Dept. of Justice will not interfere in states with 
“strong and effective regulatory and enforcement 
systems” to control cultivation, distribution, sale, and 
possession of marijuana. 

Federal Law 



Legislative Victory in Congress 

 

 In May this year, the House of Representatives voted 
(219-189) to block the DEA from spending funds to 
interfere with state medical marijuana programs. 

Federal Law 



 Patient protection from criminal conviction 

 

 Realistic access to medical marijuana 

 

 Variety of marijuana strains containing a variety of 
cannabinoids 

 

 Either smoking or vaporizing marijuana allowed 

 
 

 

Four Criteria for an Effective Law 



Since 1996, 23 states and the District of Columbia have 
enacted effective medical marijuana laws. 

 

The states are: Alaska, Arizona, California, Connecticut, 
Colorado, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, 
Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, 
Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, 
New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, Washington, and 
Vermont. 

Overview of State MMJ Laws 



In each state, a doctor’s recommendation or 
certification is required for a patient to qualify.  

 

In all of those laws, except California, Massachusetts, 
and Maryland’s, a patient must have a specific serious 
medical condition or symptom to qualify.  

 

The laws generally include cancer, AIDS, multiple 
sclerosis, severe or debilitating pain, and severe nausea.  

Overview of State MMJ Laws 



The laws require physicians to make constitutionally-
protected “recommendations,” rather than 
“prescriptions.” 

 

All allow for designated caregivers who may assist one 
or more patients, such as by picking up their medicine. 

 

In all but WA, patients + caregivers can obtain ID card. 

Overview of State MMJ Laws 



Most do not allow marijuana to be smoked in public or 
possessed in correctional facilities.  

 

Generally, employers do not have to allow on-site 
marijuana use or employees working while impaired.  

 

Most specify that insurance is not required to cover the 
costs of medical marijuana.  

 

Overview of State MMJ Laws 



Fifteen 0f the laws allow some limited home cultivation 
(usually about 4-6 plants). 

 

Three of those 15 states have “hardship” provisions. 

 

Seventeen states + D.C. allows for state-regulated 
dispensaries. 

Overview of State MMJ Laws 



In 2014, 11 states enacted ineffective “high-CBD” or 
“CBD-only” laws. 

 

These laws were intended to allow patients with 
intractable seizure disorders to use certain strains of 
medical cannabis preparations. 

Ineffective CBD-only Laws 



How do these laws fall short?  

 Seizure or epilepsy disorders only = leaving most 
patients behind 

 Little or no THC = undermines entourage effect, fails 
to help many patients  

 Most have no realistic provisions for access  

 Many use language that conflicts with federal law or 
policy 

Ineffective CBD-only Laws 



According to the ACLU, in Virginia: 

 

 Every 28 minutes, someone is arrested for possession 
of marijuana. 

 African-Americans are nearly 3 times more likely to be 
arrested than their white neighbors. 

 The state spent $67,244,864 enforcing marijuana laws 
in 2010. 

Decriminalization 



A conviction or even an arrest record, could lead to a 
lifetime of harsh collateral consequences. 

 

Areas affect: 

 Education, financial aid 

 Employment, professional licenses 

 Housing 

Decriminalization 



More than 107 million Americans have tried marijuana. 

 

But due to discriminatory enforcement, these collateral 
consequences disproportionately affect minority 
communities. 

 

Nineteen states have replaced criminal penalties with a 
fine, similar to a parking ticket. 

Decriminalization 



For more information, please visit: 

MarijuanaPolicy.org  

 

Thank you! 

http://www.MarijuanaPolicy.org
http://www.MarijuanaPolicy.org

