Revive

Home  » Behavioral Health  » Substance Abuse Services  » Revive  »

Learn how to save a life from an opioid overdose.


What is “REVIVE!”?

REVIVE! is the Opioid Overdose and Naloxone Education (OONE) program for the Commonwealth of Virginia. REVIVE! provides training on how to recognize and respond to an opioid overdose emergency using naloxone.

REVIVE! offers two types of trainings:

  • Lay Rescuer trainings are between 1-1.5 hours long. This training covers understanding opioids, how opioid overdoses happen, risk factors for opioid overdoses, and how to respond to an opioid overdose emergency with the administration of Naloxone.
  • Lay Rescuer Training of Trainers includes the basic level "Lay Rescuer training" and prepares you to become a REVIVE! instructor. This course is 3 hours long and covers the administrive requirements to lead REVIVE! trainings.

Law enforcement and First responders are required to go through a separate industry specific training offered directly through DBHDS. To request this REVIVE! training for your agency, please contact revive@dbhds.virginia.gov or a Law Enforcement Master Trainer in your region.

Why “REVIVE”?

Since 2013, fatal drug overdose has been the leading method of unnatural death in Virginia, surpassing all other forms of unnatural death including homicide, suicide, motor vehicles accidents, and undetermined deaths. Opioids have been the driving force behind the large increases in fatal overdoses since 2013. In 2017, there were 1,229 deaths from all-opioids which includes all versions of fentanyl, heroin, prescription opioids and U-47700 (an illicitly manufactured synthetic opioid). (OCME Quarterly Report)



What is naloxone?

Naloxone is a prescription medicine that reverses opioid overdoses. It works by temporarily blocking the effects of opioids and helps the person to breathe again. Naloxone is the generic name but can be found under the branded names of Narcan and Evzio.

How can I get naloxone?

Although naloxone is a prescription medicine, Virginia - like many states - has passed laws making it available as a standing order. A standing order allows pharmacists in Virginia to dispense naloxone without requiring an individual prescription.

Anyone can access naloxone by:

  • Getting a presccription from their docor; or
  • using the standing order written for the general public.

For more information about the standing order, see Virginia's Naloxone Standing Order (PDF).

Pharmacists can find more information about dispensing naloxone at the Virginia Pharmacists Association website.

The Virginia Department of Medical Assistance and its Medicaid health plans cover naloxone at no cost to it's members.

Through Federal funds "no-cost" naloxone is being made available through most of Virginia's Local Health Departments and some Community Services Boards. Please call your local agency to check for availability.



  • GOVERNOR DECLARES OPIOID ADDICTION CRISIS A PUBLIC HEALTH EMERGENCY IN VIRGINIA. Click here for more information on what you can do.
  • Virginia AWARE - Here you will find information of where to find treatment if you or a loved one is struggling with addiction, access to resources in your part of Virginia, and the latest research and data on this crisis.


These are the bills that are relevant to REVIVE! Click on the bill number for more information.

NEW 2017 Naloxone Dispensing at Trainings §54.1-3408

  • A person who is authorized by the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services to train individuals on the administration of naloxone for use in opioid overdose reversal and who is acting on behalf of an organization that provides services to individuals at risk of experiencing an opioid overdose or training in the administration of naloxone for overdose reversal and that has obtained a controlled substances registration from the Board of Pharmacy pursuant to § 54.1-3423 may dispense naloxone to a person who has completed a training program on the administration of naloxone for opioid overdose reversal approved by the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services, provided that such dispensing is
    • (i) pursuant to a standing order issued by a prescriber,
    • (ii) in accordance with protocols developed by the Board of Pharmacy in consultation with the Board of Medicine and the Department of Health, and
    • (iii) without charge or compensation. The dispensing may occur at a site other than that of the controlled substance registration provided the entity possessing the controlled substances registration maintains records in accordance with regulations of the Board of Pharmacy.
  • A person to whom naloxone has been dispensed pursuant to this subsection may possess naloxone and may administer naloxone to a person who is believed to be experiencing or about to experience a life-threatening opioid overdose.
  • Click HERE for a quick start guide
  • Contact the Board of Pharmacy to apply for Controlled Substance Registration: pharmbd@dhp.virginia.gov
  • HB 1427 - Death caused by controlled substance; penalty.
  • HB 1458 - Naloxone; administration in cases of opiate overdose.
  • HB 1500 - Safe reporting of overdoses.
  • HB 1833 - Law-enforcement officers; administration of naloxone.
  • SB 892 - Safe reporting of overdoses.
  • SB 1186 - Naloxone; administration in cases of opiate overdose.