Skip to Content
Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov

Waiver Services

States apply for Medicaid Waivers with the federal Medicaid agency known as the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS). This enables states to waive the usual requirements that individuals must reside in an institution in order to receive Medicaid funding for services. In this way, Medicaid funds certain community-based alternatives to institutional care. Virginia has been offering Medicaid funded community based supports to individuals with intellectual disabilities through the ID Waiver since 1991, and the Day Support (DS) Waiver since July 2005. The following waiver services are offered through DBHDS:

ID Waiver 

ID Waiver Pre-Authorization

ID Waiver Exceptional Rate (NEW)

DD Waiver

Day Support Waiver 

DBHDS is dedicated to joining in partnership with all available state and local resources toward the development of communities (community providers and training centers) that support and affirm all persons with intellectual disabilities and their families as participating and contributing members.

Supports Intensity Scale® (SIS®)

Welcome to the Regional Support Unit page for Individuals and Families. Here you will find information and resources concerning the Supports Intensity Scale® as well as the Waiver Slot Assignment Committees (WSAC).

Waiver Slot Assignment Committee (WSAC)

Supports Intensity Scale® (SIS®)

Ascend Management Innovations

SIS® Resources:

Sample SIS® Assessment:


Documents for Families:

Developmental Services Community Capacity and Sustainability Work Group